I have jumped off Facebook Island!

Today, I had had enough of Facebook.
I’ve deactivated* my account before, but never stuck to it, peer pressure got the better of me! But this time I think the abstinence is for keeps.
Everything just came to a head, when I realised that no one really cares, a handful of people would like something, but no one really bothers to make a conversation anymore. I feel that Facebook has killed friendship and instead has replaced it with a hunger for ‘likes’ and comments.
Once, I actually caught someone that was really close to me out on a lie, she forgot, that if she commented on someone’s status, that I would still see it, I saw what she really thought of me and that her events for the day, were a total fabrication.
Another reason, why I’ve had resentment for this social gremlin, is because in August, I had a really important issue, I looked everywhere to get hold of an email address to contact them, in the end, I got 3. They seem to be a use each email once kind of site, as I mailed the 3 that I got and they all came back with a failure to deliver attachment. The addresses weren’t even that old! Eventually, I managed to find a part of the website (that was well hidden) to submit a ticket to complain, I got an email reply that was the standard generic reply which was basically ‘sorry to hear about your dispute, we do hope its sorted now. Best regards The Facebook Team’, so I filed another ticket, under a different subject and they had the exact same thing to say! They really have no idea of customer service, every time I have had to email Twitter over something, they have always replied within 48hrs, been pleasant and even fixed the dispute for me, rather than giving out instructions. I would hate to think how much difficulty I would be having if I had to report a paedophile!
I bet you didn’t know how much of your details and personal information was being watched and saved either, I mean, who really has the time to read through all their pages of crap? Well, I did and it confirmed everything I thought, http://www.facebook.com/full_data_use_policy is the link to what they do with and how they see your information, scary isn’t it? I apologise for the link not being ‘clickable’ I tried 7 times to make it blue, but it is refusing to work for me today! Don’t hesitate to copy and paste it in to your browser though as I reassure you that its virus free!
The worst part is if you ever decide to permanently delete* your account, I don’t think it really is deleted, my Aunt tried to delete* her account and even after phoning the lovelies in California I think her account is still floating around in cyberspace.. So really and truly, whether you like it or not, your virtual life is on their for the longevity of facebook.

*Deactivating and Deleting are supposedly different.
Deactiavating: you can always log back in to your account, there is no time limit until your information is permanently removed, so 10 years later, you can just log back in!
Deleting: Removal of everything, with no going back switch, but I and people I know have had bad experiences with is and to be quite honest, its about a useful as a chocolate radiator!

Now, the serious bit I am not exactly saying boycotting facebook would be for everyone, in fact I think if I started saying that everyone should leave facebook, I would get in to a lot of trouble probably and quite possibly I will reactivate in a few months (hopefully not).

So, how do you feel about facebook?

Posted on May 4, 2012, in Another card to my deck., Light Hearted Reads, Out of curiosity.., Stuff that makes us run around like headless chickens.. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. How will I talk to you D’:

  1. Pingback: Thoughts from a Facebook quote « The Bullshit Fighter

Leave a Reply

